Coming Out of Retirement Could be Expensive…

Contemplate this picture for a moment.

I’ve now spent the better half of this week seriously considering buying Gens 1 through 4 all over again. Then I’m reminded WHY I quit Pokemon after dedicating what was half my life to it at the time: I didn’t have anyone to play with. I owned both versions of each generation and quit after the 4th. Then there’s the fact all of the Pokemon I had in my original 3rd and 4th gen games have been permanently retired to My Pokemon Ranch (Wii). I’d obviously also need to buy an Action Replay as well for the unreleased legendaries (Mew, Celebi, Deoxys, Jirachi, Manaphy, Phione and Shaymin) and version exclusives.

When I factor all of those things with my current situation at home, I pause.

As a reminder I stopped playing Pokemon after the 4th Gen (Diamond, Pearl, Platinium, HeartGold and SoulSilver). That freed me up to enjoy other things but after that Holomon video I saw at Anime Boston…the desire to do it again came back. With a vengeance. I’m actually browsing Amazon.com at this moment looking for a good deal on Gens 1 through 4. Buying the hardware won’t cost all that much in comparison though I’ll definitely need to buy two Game Boy Colors for the first two gens (6 games) and a Game Boy Link Cable. I just got a GBA SP during Anime Boston and my DS Lite can play GBA games. I’ll still need to buy a link cable and another GBA to trade. I have a DS Lite and a 3DS and fortunately I can trade between them though honestly I was looking to buy another DS Lite anyway. Once I’ve done that, I should be right were I was when this all started almost exactly 10 years ago.

Where I was…on second thought, I’ll leave it behind. The more I remember where I was 10 years ago, the more I don’t want to go through what I did again. The fact is, it’s not only a bad time but it’s too expensive. At least I’ve still got the memories ^_^

This entry was posted in Blog, Game Boy Advance, Nintendo 3DS, Nintendo DS, Retro Gaming and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

