I’m Done With World of Warcraft

256px-World_of_Warcraft_-_Mists_of_Pandaria_Box_Art

And it has nothing to do with the game itself.

Earlier this aftermoon I had a falling out with a friend I’d known for about four years. This email I just sent to mutual friend of our explains things in full. This excerpt has been edited for profanity as well as remove names.

About 45 minutes ago we were talking in vent and the subject of Gold Farmers came up in our conversation. I said I know people who farm gold and she goes batsh**. Mind you, this isn’t the first time I told her–or you–that I know people who farm gold. As I said in the video there are two kinds of Gold Farmers: Those who hack accounts and those who solo dungeons, heroics and old raids. The people I know fall in the latter category, She just assumed I was talking about the first kind, which Blizzard has effectively shut down in-game and online. Her account was hacked a few years ago and I was aware of that when the conversation came up. She cited that as the reason for her attitude.

The last thing she said before kicking me out of vent was “Clesrly I don’t know you as well as I think I did.”

With that one statement I knew what she was going to do before she did it. She then removes all my characters from the guilds we were in together on Cairne and Cenarius. I was able to remove my 90s from the guild I was in on Suramar before she did though. As far as I’m concerned I’m not the bad guy here. Even so I’m not dumb enough to expect an apology from her.

She’s the one who decided we can’t be friends anymore. Not me.

All I can say is I’m glad I used a prepaid card for July and August. I don’t have to renew at the end of next month.  I’m done with WoW.  Now that I no longer have friends on WoW I no longer have a reason to play anymore. At the end of the day, it’s in situations like this you find out who your real friends are.

Lesson learned.

…May I not take my real friends for granted.

There you have it. While yes obviously there are parts of the email left out they’re directed towards the person I emailed this to. Just some trash talking on my part.

Anywho, yeah I’m done. It was fun while it lasted. A friend of mine from work has been asking me to try Guild Wars 2 for months. I’m going to take him up on his offer and delete WoW from my desktop after my current subsctiption expires. In the meantime I can remove WoW from my laptops.

I had no friends when I started playing WoW. It’s only fitting my exit’s the same way.

 Believe it or not, the lack of friends is the main reason quit MMOs. MMOs come and go but WoW set a standard all the rest can only chase after. I’m confident in saying WoW will still be around 10 years from now. It’ll take more than new content to bring me back to Azeroth though.

This entry was posted in Blog, PC, World of Warcraft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Done With World of Warcraft

  1. qwerqsar says:

    That’s the nice things about MMOs. Too badsome people are already scared off because of the gold farming. I could reccommend Lord of the Rings Online if you want a friendlier community.

Leave a Reply

