The Last Phase of the Death of Zune Marketplace has been announced

I got this email from Microsoft a few days ago:

Zune Marketplace will no longer support rental and purchase
Earlier this year, we announced that we are bringing local currency to Xbox 360 and Xbox One consoles. This change was a direct result of customer feedback.Starting as early as August 22nd, Microsoft Points will be retired and will no longer be supported by the Zune service.

You can continue to rent and purchase content on Xbox Music and Xbox Video stores with the payment options available in your region. For more information on where you can access these stores, please visit xbox.com/music and xbox.com/video.

You will still be able to use Zune to stream unlimited music with your Xbox Music Pass and enjoy playback of the music, movies, and TV shows in your personal collection. For more information on these changes, please visit http://www.Xbox.com/zune. However, you will no longer be able to rent or buy TV, movie, or music content on Zune Marketplace. We encourage you to spend your Microsoft Points balance prior to this change.

For more information about Microsoft Points retiring, please visit http://www.xbox.com/pointsfaq.

Sincerely,
The Xbox Music & Video Team

This doesn’t mean anything to those who never had a Zune HD or never used Zune Marketplace (The PC eqivalent of Xbox Video and Xbox Music) but for those like me who were hoping Microsoft would revive the Zune brand, this announcement is the final nail in the coffin.

While I have been downloading and streaming my anime through my Xbox 360 since I got it two years ago I did continue to buy music between the time my Zune HD broke two years ago to when I got my iPod Touch in May of this year. The last purchases I made was the Les Miserables Soundtrack. On the same day I bought the movie via Xbox Live in HD.

Man, those were some great memories. Can’t be helped. I had a feeling this might happen and it was the reason I ultimately decided to buy my iPod. Don’t get me wrong I’m sticking with Xbox Live. I’m not updating to the Xbox One though, either since there’s still alot of games I have to try out for the 360 while the majority are busy with their Xbox One consoles.

I am going to have to buy a second Xbox 360 console, though. The reason: my 250GB one is full (Thanks to my buying movies in HD as well as whole Anime seasons in Standard Definition–it adds up). I’m getting a 320GB hard drive and I’m going to split what I’m using them for between the two 360s: The 250GB one for games and the 320GB one for Movies and Anime.

 

//

This entry was posted in Microsoft, Video Games, Xbox 360 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Last Phase of the Death of Zune Marketplace has been announced

Leave a Reply

