Wii, DS being phased out in retailers worldwide

 

Earlier this week week it was reported in the United Kingdom they would no longer be receiving new Wii shipments. Last week, Nintendo of Japan announced it has ceased production of new Wii consoles. While an announcement of the end of U.S. shipments has yet to be announced I’m sure that day isn’t too far off. It’s been a year since the Wii U was released and sales of the Wii’s successor have been far lower than expected, selling approximately 35 million units worldwide. In comparison the original Wii sold apporximately 167 million units worldwide during its lifespan. Let me pause for a minute and say I am now 100% on those figures, hence why I used the world “approximately”. I will edit this with the correct figures at a later time.

Anyway, historically Nintendo has always been quick to put the previous system to pasture once they released a new one. It was the same with the Gamecube, Nintendo 64, Super Nintendo and NES as well. Like the Wii U, the Wii caused quite a stir in the gaming community when it was unveiled at E3 2005. Unlike the PS2/PS3 and Xbox/360 the Wii traded traditional controllers for motion control in the Wii Remote and Nunchuk. It was different, to say the least. The Wii was the seconf console after the Dreamcast that allowed gamers to buy games from the company’s past game libraries. This essentially negated any reason for one to sell their Wii once they bought some games via the Virtual Console.

At least, that’s what I believed until this year. I’ve been noticing a sharp increase in Wii consoles being sold. It’s interesting to note they’re being sold by people looking to either buy a PS3 or put it towards buying a PS4 or Xbox One. I rarely side with the opinions of Gamefaqs/Gamespot regulars but when it comes to how Nintendo handled the Wii U they hit the nail on the head: The Wii U is a failure as a sellable product. One would have thought they would have actually learned and went out of their way to not repeat the same mistakes they made with the Wii when it first launched.

As someone who bought a Wii I have no problem saying the console is less than perfect. Like the other consoles I still have there are quite a few games I would reccommend buying a Wii for.

Here’s my list:

  • Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn (Path of Radiance clear data reccommended but not required)
  • Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World (The game surprised alot of Tales fans who didn’t think they’d like it)
  • Mario Kart Wii
  • Super Smash Bros. Brawl
  • The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess (Though I have the Gamecube version myself)
  • Resident Evil 4
  • The Michael Jackson Experience (Get the Xbox 360 version if you want to sing)
  • Samurai Warriors 3 (Extremely hard to find in stores now)
  • Trauma Center: New Blood
  • Trauma Team
  • Animal Crossing New City
  • The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword
  • Xenoblade Chronicles
  • The Last Story

The last three games on the list also happen to be the last big games the Wii would receive. Except for Skyward Sword and The Last Story I have played all of the games on the list and still own except for RE4, Trauma Center New Blood and Animal Crossing New City. If you are a Dynasty/Samurai Warriors fan you owe it to yourself to buy SW3. The reason: It’s a Wii exclusive and has been hard to find since the game was released. It is also the only Samurai Warriors title released not only with both English and japanese audio but the option to switch between the two at your leisure.

Aside from those you probably don’t have much of a reason to run out and grab a Wii. By the way, it can now be found preowned in Gamestop for $60. That’s $190 less than it went for 7 years ago (LOL!). As I mentioned on Fantasy Anime’s forums last month Nintendo has stopped support of almost all of the Wii’s channels in a bid to force people to get a Wii U (can we say DESPARATE?). It really is a shame. I will not be getting a Wii U for various reasons but that’s a separate topic for another time. I will say that I will not be parting with my Wii until it stops working. It’s unsellable anyway. Not just because of the $75 worth of games I downloaded on it but credit cards can’t be used on it to add Wii Points (Nintendo deliberately did not upgrade the DSi and Wii stores to local currency to force people to buy a 3DS/Wii U).

Anywho, I’m stilcking with the games I currently do have for the Wii. There are two more Wii games I’m looking for though I’m sure I can find them on Amazon: Harvest Moon and Rune Factory. Once I have those games I’m set. As for the Nintendo DS, it’s the handheld that almost 10 years later refuses to die. There were rumors on various fansites Pokemon White 2 and Black 2 would be released on the 3DS to help boost the console’s sales. To everyone’s surprise it was released on the DS (with DSi/3DS camera support) instead.

Like the Game Boy Advance before it and the 3DS after it, the DS enjoyed the benefit of having ALOT of 3rd party companies making games on it. The unexpected release of Final Fantasy III on the DS suddenly made it a must-have for Final Fantasy fans. The Ace Attorney and Professor Layton games helped bring in gamers from all walks of life. Of course, it would be the first-party games that would be the main draw.

For me, that game was Super Mario Bros. 64 DS. It, along with Mario Kart DS were two of the first six DS games I bought that first year, Metroid Prime Hunters…whew. easily the most popular online game on the DS until Pokemon Diamond and Pearl were released and the best handheld online FPS on the handheld. Unlike the Wii there were a variety of 3rd Party games being released between 1st party games so you didn’t mind waiting for New Super Mario Bros. or Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon.

The DS certainly has a large number of memorable games. Too many to make a proper list, actually! One thing the 3DS has over the DS that certainly won’t be missed is the Friend Code overhaul. For those who like me has a Friend Code Bank on their board, with the 3DS friend codes are one per console vs. the DS’s/Wii’s one per game. Pokemon X and Pokemon Y are also the first games that do not necessarily require players to swap Friend Codes to add each other to their friend list.

I still have a DS Lite as a reminder so…yeah.  I haven’t played it as much since I got my PSPs, Vita and 3DS but I did just buy 8 new games for it in recent weeks. The DS Lite can currently be found preowned in Gamestop for $50. The DSi/DSi XL sells for $75 used. The DSi has the added value of two cameras and MP3 support so…yeah.

It was a great run but all good things must come to an end. I’d say buy a DS or Wii while you still can because once they’re gone, they’re gone.

 

 

This entry was posted in Blog, Brendan Aurabolt, Nintendo 3DS, Nintendo DS, Nintendo Wii, Retro Gaming, Serene Adventure, Video Games and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wii, DS being phased out in retailers worldwide

  1. gunlord500 says:

    Aw man, I had a lot of good times with my DS and a few with my Wii. RIP.

Leave a Reply

