New to the 3DS eShop: 1/2/14 [Update]

Starting this week I will post the list of Games, Apps and Demos added each week to the Nintendo eShop. The eShop for both the 3DS and the Wii U (as well as the Wii and DSi) is regularly updated every Thursday at 2:00PM (EST)/11:00AM (PST). The updates do not include retail games released for download as those games are made available the same day their physical counterparts are released.

Most famously last year, Fire Emblem Awakening’s physical release was delayed. In what I call a sort of knee-jerk response, some who preordered a physical copy cancelled their preorder and bought a digital copy of the game. Fire Emblem Awakening now stands as the biggest selling digital download in the eShop’s history. Even bigger than Pokemon X and Y combined, which is saying something considering it’s Pokemon we’re talking about XD

Anywho, here’s what was released this week on the 3DS eShop:

  • Bravely Default Demo

That’s it. You read right.

For those like me who have no interest in Bravely Default, you end up with nothing.

This is nothing new for Nintendo. One thing they’ve become good at since they introduced their online store 7 years ago is disappointing fans willing to pay a premium for choice games. The only silver lining is the Playstation and Xbox equivalents are not much better right now though both have released better quality games during the holiday.

Having just bought GTA Vice City via the PSN yesterday I know that game’s gonna keep me busy while I wait out the storm. And then I have 6 PS3 Games I know will take a few months to play through. On top of that all of them have replay value so…yeah.

I also have more than a few 3DS games I need to finish. This is one of those times I wish I could clone myself xD

EDIT 8:30PM (EST): I tried the Demo and was impressed by what I saw. As I said on Gamefaqs a short time ago, after trying the Demo I’ve decided to get the full game when it’s released. I just hope it doesn’t suffer the same fate as Heroes of Ruin–that game’s online died off a few weeks after it was released. After I’ve finished the Demo I will post my Preview of Bravely Default.

This entry was posted in Blog, Brendan Aurabolt, News, Nintendo 3DS, Preview, Video Games and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

