Time for a Winter Purge of Computer Games [UPDATE]

Thanks to today’s snow day in Boston I was able to make the time to do the purge. In addition to deleting all of my Sims 2 and Sims 3 files from my computers (what I wanted to keep is backed up on my external Hard Drive) I also deleted a combined 200GB worth of video files on my computers, all of them Xbox Live Purchases.  Most of said files I have on my Xbox 360 as well so…yeah. A handful of vids I left on my computers but most were deleted. I can still stream the videos through the Zune Client so I still have access to them. Finally, I deleted Media Go from my Laptop. It’s the PC Client needed to transfer files between the PSP Go and your computer. I’m keeping it on my Desktop for quickly downloading PSP games though I will download PSOne games to my PS3 directly from now on.

Post-purge my Desktop now has 278GB of free space and my Laptop now has 156GB of free space, which are both far more than I could have imagined. This is good as now my Laptop will be a great shape for what I have planned for Anime Boston 2014. For more on that, see my Anime Blog.

 

The original article reads as follows:

 

Since Anime Boston 2014 is exactly two months from tomorrow and both of my computers combined have 160GB of free space (!), I’ve decided to clear out the games and their associated files I haven’t played much since I bought both of computers in 2011 and 2012, respectively. My intent is to at least get both computers back above 100GB to help with my internet speed.

First I will list the games I am definitely going to keep:

  • Steam Purchases (both computers): This is Civlization V + its expansions, Ducktales Remastered, Age of Empires II HD and Final Fantasy VII. Combined, they don’t take up more than 20GB.
  • World of Warcraft (Desktop Only): I deleted it from my laptop after I ragequit last summer. I will keep it on my desktop at least until I’ve had the opportunity to try the upcoming expansion Warlords of Draenor.
  • Diablo III (Laptop Only): I haven’t played it much but it doesn’t use much of my laptop’s resources. Plus the first expansion Reaper of Souls will be released soon. I got it for free for participating in the Annual Pass so…yeah.
  • Starcraft II (both computers): It’s the only one of Blizzard’s big three (the other two being the Diablo and Warcraft Franchises) that I know I can have a couple online matches literally at any time without being kept waiting. It also doesn’t have the “always online” dependency the other two games do.
  • Civilization IV (both computers): Between Civ IV and V, I prefer IV more personally. Civ IV doesn’t have the instability and lag Civ V does on my computers (both are powerful even though they’re premades) and I can use my own music with it. Online’s still alive and kicking too.
  • Guild Wars 2 (both computers): Knowing there’s no subscription makes keeping it a no-brainer.
  • Sim City 4 Deluxe (both computers): The only game on my keep list that requires the Game Disc to play, it is still the best Sim City game available. I never got the new one and as has been revealed, my not getting it was justified.
  • Warcraft III + The Frozen Throne (both computers): The video cutscenes don’t work for some odd reason on both of my computers but other than that, the game works just fine. The online servers have been shut down for almost a decade but the game itself is a classic.

That’s basically it. Now here’s the games I am getting rid of:

  • The Sims 2 (both computers): It wasn’t an easy decision given the custom content I collected during the game’s lifespan almost 10 years ago. Most of said custom content is no longer available so…yeah. I did a check and by getting rid of my Sims 2 files I will get back 16GB of free space. The fact that the game disc is needed to run it makes it a bit more expendable.
  • The Sims 3 (both computers): Same as The Sims 2 only the custom content’s expendable. Why? Because I got it direct from EA, meaning I can redownload it at no extra cost. Man, this game’s a beast. Playing The Sims 3 is like playing an MMO. Unlike the first two generations, in The Sims 3 the houses you’re not currently playing are not “frozen”. Time continues for them. When I purge my Sims 3 files I will get back nearly 30GB. Like The Sims 2 the game disc is needed to play it so…yeah.

I will definitely put both games back on my desktop when I buy a second hard drive in April. Internal Hard Drives are relatively inexpensive compared to external hard drives (Passbooks, etc.). I’ve already backed up my Sims 2 custom content and since I can redownload my Sims 3 custom content at any time it’s not like I’m losing anything there.

Since I’ve been taking about the Sims for a bit, this might be of interest to my fellow Sims fans:

…And yes, I will be getting it.

The big reason I’m getting it is the fact The Sims 4 is going to roll things back to The Sims 2 formula to make it easier to play multiple households. By that I mean the whole living neighborhood thing. It’ll still happen but you no longer have to worry about the households you’re not controlling aging or career progressing/changing without you being there to witness it.

A look at the picture above will also tell you Maxis is taking a step back from making the Sims look “too human” and closer to how they were in The Sims 2. Considering Sims can become pregnant in The Sims 2 and The Sims 3 (PC only, see below) Part of it is to make the game more accessible to those with lower-end computers though if your machine can barely run The Sims 3 and moderately run The Sims 2, it’s time to upgrade your computer!

Pregnant Female Sim in The Sims 3Two Sims in The Sims 2

The second picture was taken using my old laptop while the top one was taken using my desktop. Gotta love the sharp pictures. So nostalgic. Oh, and no the pregnant women in each picture are not the same person. The top picture is Ann Marie from my Serene Adventure stories while Gina Garcia is in the bottom one.

This entry was posted in Blog, Brendan Aurabolt, PC, Serene Adventure, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

