Review: Tales of Symphonia Chronicles (Playstation 3)

Tales of Symphonia Chronicles

I bought the game Thursday evening. As soon as I got home, I put on the Nostalgia Glasses and started up the game. I was pleasantly surprised when I heard something I thought I’d have to buy a Japanese PS2 to hear:

Yes, the Japanese opening for Tales of Symphonia ^_^

Out of the five main Tales games I’ve played so far–Symphonia, Phantasia, Abyss, Vesperia and Graces f (I have Xillia too but am waiting until I clear Graces f before playing it)–Symphonia’s Opening song is the only one so far that I prefer in Japanese. As an aside, most folks prefer the instrumental version of Abyss’ opening.

It is interesting to note while we’ve seen a parade of ports, HD remakes and reboots in recent years, Symphonia might be the other exception-the first being Ocarina of Time–to be embraced by western fans no matter how many times it’s released. I say that despite OoT being released five times (N64, three Gamecube releases, Virtual Console and 3DS) whereas this is Symphonia’s second release. Moving on, Bamco kept the English audio from the original Gamecube and Wii releases of Symphonia and its sequel, Dawn of the New World for the Playstation 3 release. Did I forget to mention the full games fit on one disc? Given Symphonia is across two Gamecube Discs (Gamecube Micro CDs have a maximum storage size of 3.5GB in case you’re wondering)…yeah.

As you can see in the above picture yes, I still have the original game. I would be the first to say the game has certainly aged well. I’m sure some of you might be wondering why people love this game so much. I sure did when I heard about it in 2006. See my other blog post on both of the Symphonia games plus the anime based on the first game here. On a scale of 1 to 10, I give Tales of Symphonia Chronicles a 20. For the 100% completionists out there, you will need at least 5 playthroughs to unlock all the costumes and titles in the game due to certain costumes earned by certain characters with a high enough attachment to Lloyd in Symphonia.

Before I let you go, as of 5 minutes ago I have just cleared the first Seal in Sylverant (Triet Ruins). I can confirm the video cutscene showing Colette getting her wings is in the PS3 version. Those who played the Japan-only PS2 release might remember extra cutscenes were added in the PS2 version. Having only played the Gamecube version until now, it’s got me very excited ^_^

I will be talking about the fandom itself at Anime Boston 2014 (panel approval pending of course). After Anime Boston is done I will post here a recap of what others have to say about Tales of Symphonia 10 years later.

This entry was posted in Anime Boston, Blog, Brendan Aurabolt, Gamecube, Nintendo Wii, Playstation 3, Review, RPG, Serene Adventure, Tales of Symphonia, Tales of Symphonia Dawn of the New World, Video Games and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

