Now’s a good time to take the Vita seriously if you haven’t yet

With the recent releases of Final Fantasy X/X2 HD, Dynasty Warriors 8 Xtreme Legends Complete Edition and Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars, the Vita’s worth being looked into as a viable system for those who’ve been on the fence about getting it. I bought mine around this time last year and to be honest, two months later I was begninning to regret my decision to get it.

…Then I played Persona 4 Golden and you guys know how I feel about that game XD

Until recently, I’ve been partial to the 3DS because the library’s both bigger and has more of the type of games I like. I got the Vita initially because I wanted to get Valhalla Knights 3 (I have the first two as well as the Wii-exclusive Valhalla Knights: Eldar Saga). Getting Persona 4 Golden showed me just how powerful the Vita was and reignited my interest in the Persona and Shin Megami Tensei games.

Honestly, I thought that would be it for a while in terms of big games on the Vita. 2014 has proven me wrong so far. I got DW8XLCE and the PS3 version as well as Conception II, the latter of which was also released on the 3DS. I already downloaded the Demo on my Vita (it’s the first chapter of the game actually) so getting the full game was a foregone conclusion to me. That, and I haven’t given up on my Vita.

Sure, there are other great games on both the 3DS and the Vita but only now have I seen the games I’m interested in getting released on the Vita. I already have over 30 3DS games I can now say I have a good choice of games on both of my handhelds ^_^

By the way, the Vita Slim was announced as getting a North American release before the end of the year. I got the WiFi version of the Vita personally but as I understand it, the Vita Slim is only 33% smaller than the original. Folks have been talking about it for the last few weeks but The Playstation Network is looking more and more like Steam. Unlike Nintendo and unlike Microsoft’s Free with Gold promotion (by the way, I haven’t played my Xbox 360 much since I got my PS3), Somy gives away high-profile games or has insanely cheap deals for them. Bioshock Infinite is free and has been since January for example.

As a disclaimer and reminder, I am NOT a game company fanboy. I buy consoles for games first and its non-gaming capabilities second. For example, my 360 is my DVD Player and my PS3 is my Blue Ray Player…

 

This entry was posted in Blog, Playstation 3, Playstation Vita, PS Vita, Retro Gaming, RPG, Serene Adventure, Sony, Video Games, Vita and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

