My Gaming Plans for the Summer

Heh…without a doubt, this summer is catch up time for games I bought and/or started over the last 10 months but never started or finished due to my work-related obligations. This may be hard for some folks to believe but this past school year is the first time I can remember consciously going out of my way to avoid going to the Prudential Center, Winter Street, The Galleria and Best Buy near Fenway Park unless I had a reason that didn’t involve video games for being there. For example I go to Comicopia in Kenmore Square to get ny Manga fix every month (WOOT!).

Anyway, there are quite a few games on the PC as well as three consoles that I’ve been meaning to get back to. Being mindful of the writing commitments I mentioned over the weekend, this list will be small. And now, the list:

 

PC Games

Before I begin, once I have the time I plan to put in a second hard drive and upgrade the video card on my desktop at some point this summer. I’ve been meaning to do this for a WHILE just so I can play D3 on it so…yeah =D

  • Guild Wars 2: I’ll get to this eventually. ‘Nuff said (LOL!)
  • Diablo III Reaper of Souls: I got the expansion in April on my laptop but haven’t spent much time in the game. When I have a bit of spare time, I’ll play it on my laptop.
  • Heroes of the Storm: Believe it or not, I was selected to Alpha Test the game (!). The client’s unstable but once the Alpha is stable enough, I will play it =O
  • Age of Empires II HD: I got it from Steam a while back and the game is AWESOME. Haven’t touched online yet because I’ve been so busy with playing around with single-player custom matches XD
  • Final Fantasy VII: For those who need a reminder, FFVII was released on Steam last year. I spent a huge chunk of time on the game last July on my laptop during my move across town since I didn’t have access to my Desktop for much of the summer and my internet was limited (first time I used my cellphone as a hotspot as I recall. LOL). After I get Vincent I will progress the game a bit more and then AP grind once I get Cid.

Some of you might remember I also got Five Grand Theft Auto Games (not GTA 5) a few months back. I haven’t touched them but they’re on my desktop and I can play them anytime. I have also already beaten Vice City (I bought the PS2 Classic version on my PS3 in March actually) as well as GTA3 so…yeah. Haven’t played San Andreas or the GTA4 Games though XD

 

Playstation 3

My newest console and six months later, I already have 18 games for it. The best part: Call of Duty and Grand Theft Auto V are not among them. Anywho, yeah I have ALOT of games I need to play and/or finish. Here’s what I’m looking at for this summer:

  • Tales of Symphonia: The plan is to finish my first playthrough this summer and possibly my second. I beat the Gamecube version 17 times so…yeah. I alreayd know what I need to do.
  • Tales of Graces f: The plan is to hopefully beat this game. This will then free me to play the next two games.
  • Tales of Xillia: I bought the game a few months back and will not touch it until I’ve at least beaten Tales of Graces f at least once. It rests on my desk awaiting the day that eventually happens.
  • Persona 4 (PS2 Classic):  Yes, I bought Persona 4 even though I consider the Vita port to be the better game. As a fan of the series I felt inclined to play the original game. Aside from the Vita stuff being absent and Chie and Teddie having different voice actors, ir’s the same game prettymuch. Gotta admit, playing the game on a bigger screen it pretty cool XD
  • Ni No Kuni: An Artsy RPG created by Studio Ghibli, its very existance answers the question “Can an Animation Studio make a decient game?” These guys hit it out of the park as this game was considered for PS3 RPG of 2013. I bought the game from the Playstation Network for $17 and plan to get back to it eventually.
  • The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim: The game has taken a backseat in recent weeks but I haven’t forgotten about it. The open-endedness of this game allows me to put it in the backburner for a while and focus on the other games on the list.
  • Dynasty Warriors 8: Xtreme Legends: I bought the Vita version at the same time but let me just say Cross Play is AWESOME! Being able to share progress between the two is definitely handy but not as handy as being able to import my progress from DW8. I know I can get back to this anytime I wanna play on a big screen =D

 

Playstation Vita

This handheld has been having a real good year so far in terms of quality new releases. I’d know–I bought some of them XD

 

  • Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars: This game was also released on the 3DS. I got through what I assume is 2/3 of the game before taking a break to play other games for a bit. The dungeons have a steep learning curve and get progressively longer the further you go. After getting through a few floors of the 5th Dungeon, I needed to take a break from the game. It’s prettymuch “Advance plot–> Clear dungeon —> Advance Plot—> Repeat” with new town stuff being unlocked in between. The DLC adds more classes and EXP-making opportunities and I highly reccommend getting them all.
  • Valhalla Knights 3: Ah, the beast. I am in no hurry on this one having played the other VK games. When I feel like it, I will finish it.
  • Dynasty Warriors 8: Xtreme Legends Complete Edition: See what I put for DW8XL (PS3) above.
  • Dragon’s Crown: Yet another game I started but haven’t finished yet. The game is fast-paced and I do plan to finish it eventually.

At the time I was putting this list together, I bought two more Vita games: The Metal Gear Solid HD Collection (MGS2 Subsistence and MGS3Subsistence + MG and MG2) and Hyper Dimension Neptuna PP. This brings the number of Vita games I own to 13 (11 Physical, two Digital). I will make a separate blog post on this another day.

 

Nintendo 3DS

While yes, my focus has been on the Sony Consoles I DO have two Nintendo 3DS consoles =O

  • Tomadachi Life: I bought the game on launch day and it’s been the only game I’ve been playing on my Blue 3DS at the moment. A first-look review is incoming shortly.
  • Pokemon X and Pokemon Y: Now that we know for sure Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire are coming this November, the race is on for me to fill up both of my Pokemon Bank Accounts with Pokemon. As a reminder I have two Nintendo IDs (one Nintendo ID per 3DS) and yes, two Pokemon Bank Apps. I also have Black 1, Black 2, White 1, White 2, Platinum and just the other day, I bought Soul Silver. There is no rush in regards to these games though.
  • Rune Factory 4: I started playing this game again a few days ago after taking a long hiatus. Even though I beat the game, I have some unfinished business with it. I’m playing it on my Blue 3DS.
  • Phoenix Wright: Dual Destinies: My surprising declaration at Anime Boston 2014 is the reason I’m going back to this game to finally finish it. Now that I’ve wrapped up Bravely Default, Pokemon and can put Mario Kart 7 on hiatus, I feel good about returning to this one to continue where I left off. I downloaded it onto my Blue 3DS so…yeah.
  • Harvest Moon: A New Beginning: Man, I need to finish this game. I’ve played through much of it on my Blue 3DS back in the day (physical copy) but I still have a ways to go. The game doesn’t have Streetpass and the Online’s kinda dead now so I will probably finish it on my Red 3DS.
  • Harvest Moon: Tale of Two Towns: A blast from the past, I bought a digital copy on my Red 3DS specifically so that I can finish the physical copy on my Blue 3DS. Seems like a good time to return to it this summer. Now that I’ve figured out how to make Streetpass work in the game, I can finish my original file in the Blue 3DS and unlock the mine, among other things.

That’s basically it. Oh, there are other eShop-purchased games I’ll be working on inbetween but these are the big ones. I also have my second copies of Bravely Default and Fire Emblem Awakening to finish so…yeah. To clarify by eShop-purched games, I mean games I bought already but haven’t played in a while.

 

Of course, there are also games on the Xbox 360 and Wii I need to finish but those games can wait until next summer. The thing I like about the current arrangement is since most of the games are on handhelds, I can take them on the road with me and with my JBL Charge, I’m not ncessarily forced to find a wall once the light turns red on my 3DS consoles =O

 

This entry was posted in Blog, Brendan Aurabolt, Nintendo 3DS, Playstation 3, Playstation Vita, Preview, Review, Serene Adventure, Video Games, Vita and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

