Here’s why I prefer discussing Video Games here than on Internet Message Boards

I don’t feel like I’m wasting my time first and foremost.

I also don’t have to worry about the things I usually spend alot of time and effort writing getting buried on higjh-profile sites like Gamefaqs, MMO-Champion and Gamespot. Here, I know folks come here for one purpose and that’s because they’re interested in what I have to say.

Most importantly though: I don’t have to put up with the “fanboys” and the negativity on all things gaming-related all too common on the aforementioned websites.

Look, everyone’s got an opinion and I respect that. After all, I have five blogs. On the other hand, alot of the conversations that happen on the big sites I named are nothing more than infighting amongst folks. You decide to have a serious conversation about a popular subject and folks want to challenge your IQ or go out of their way to basically say “Your viewpoint is wrong because my viewpoint makes better sense to me”.

With this blog, I don’t have to worry about that so much.

A benefit for those who read my blogs is for the most part, you don’t have to worry about reading biased opinions in my review of games (unless otherwise noted). Translation: I don’t participate in the community-created fanboyism be it consoles vs. PC, Nintendo vs. Sony vs. Microsoft or even Commercal Games vs. Emulation.They’re ALL good. To hate on one is to hate on all. Try to remember that.

…That said, I won’t tell you where to find R@Ms but I don’t have a problem talking about them on my blog.

Another benefit to running a blog vs. dealing with the Industry-influenced news sites is if you have a huge fanbase, your popularity will continue to grow. Even better: You’re bot forced to hold back because of the site’s policies (for example “No R@M discussion ever!”). The only reason I’m not spelling the word out correctly is because I don’t want anyone doing a Search to come here expecting to find R@Ms only to be dissappointed XD

Emulation though…it’s an important part of the community. Pretending it doesn’t exist is is a slap in the face of everyone who’d ever made a video game in my book. Imitation is the ultimate form of flattery, after all. Plus, fanmade mods can only be played on the R@M version of a game anyways.

That said, I buy all of the games I play. In the case of R@Ms, 10/10 times I already have a physical or legal digital copy of the game already. I am of the firm belief if you don’t want to pay to play video games, you don’t deserve to play video games period.

If anyone has a problem with my stance on the discussion of Emulation, you know how to get in touch with me ^_^

 

This entry was posted in Blog, Brendan Aurabolt, News, Retro Gaming, Serene Adventure, Video Games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

