And thus, my Video Game Shopping for 2014 is done

…Oh, the money I will be saving this holiday season.

IMG_0023

My Physical 3DS Games. I also have digital copies of some of these games ^_^

Can’t believe it took me 20 years to achieve this goal: Buy all the games I know I want for a console and be satisfied. I have done it and even better, I did it on two current-gen systems to boot.

In addition to the above 3DS games, I also have the following 3DS games in digital form:

  • Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney: Dual Destinies
  • Shin Megami Tensei: Soul Hackers
  • Code of Princess
  • Bravely Default (two copies with one on each 3DS)
  • Fire Emblem Awakening (Digital Copy)
  • Harvest Moon 3D: A Tale of Town Towns (Digital Copy)
  • Etrian Oddyssey Untold: The Milennium Girl
  • Etrian Oddyssey IV
  • Azure Striker Gunvolt
  • Mighty Gunvolt

Plus Virtual Console games and digital only indie 3DS games across my two handhelds. I have around 60 3DS games total physical and digital and that’s excluding Virtual Console games. Of the games I have, there even some games I bought years ago I have yet to finish–Both Harvest Moon games, MGS3 and Etrian Oddyssey IV among others. I also have Pokemon HeartGold, White 1 and Black 2 to finish as well so…yeah.

When I’m done buying the games I have preordered, I think I’ll be set until at least Anime Boston. I have Persona Q, Pokemon OmegaRuby and AlphaSapphire preordered and both games come out late next month. I am also looking into and Fantasy Life (releases 10/24) so for now It’s on my preorder list. I was researching two upcoming Harvest Moon games (The Lost Valley and Story of Seasons) but due to the confusion surrounding both games, I’m going to pass on both of them. It actually works out to do that since I haven’t finished the Harvest Moon games I do have XD

As I said in the blog post I made last night, I only write revieews for games I’ve played myself. I believe I’ve written a review for almost all of the gamess pictured above. As soon as I’ve unlocked R.O.B. in Super Smash Bros. 3DS (Going the Trophy Route. Only need to get 24 more as of this writing) I will write the postgame review.

 

Now, here be my Vita Games:

 

IMG_0021

My Physical Vita Titles. Assassin’s Creed: Liberation is the last game in the bottom-left corner.

In addition to these games, I have a digital copy of the following games as well:

  • Final Fantasy X-2 HD Remaster (Digital Only but part of the set)
  • Sword Art Online: Hollow Fragment (protip: DO NOT play if you have never seen the Anime this game is based on)
  • Warriors Orochi 3 Ultimate (also available for the Ps3 and PS4 physical and digital but the Vita version is digital only)
  • Graviry Rush (Free via PS+)
  • Soul Sacrifice (Free via PS+)
  • Playstation All-Stars Battle Royale (Free via PS+; also have PS3 version)
  • Rainbow Moon (free this month via PS+; also have PS3 version)

…As a reminder, I have a 64GB Memory Card =D

The game you can’t see on the bottom-left is Assassin’s Creed: Liberation. I have about 20GB left on my memory card. It was $100 well spent.  Rainbow Moon, Warriors Orochi 3 Ultimate, Dynasty Warriors 8: Extreme Legends Complete Edition, Playstation All-Stars, Dragon’s Crown and Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD all have cross-play and cross-save with their PS3/PS4 counterparts. A bit of incentive if you have both a Vita and a PS3/PS4, yes?

In regards to preorders, I’m getting Tales of Hearts R (releases 11/11). It’s the first Tales game coming to North America to not have an English Dub per fan request. Based on what I’m reading on Gamefaqs, ToHR will get a limited physical release (Gamestop exclusive). If I don’t get a physical copy I will buy it digitally.

At the moment I’m playing Ys: Memories of Celceta and it is EXCELLENT. Once I finish my first playthrough FFX is next, followed by FFX-2. On top of that, I also have Rainbow Moon and Sword Art Online: Holly Fragment so…yeah. No more games after Tales of Hearts R for s while!

 

IMG_0003

My Handhelds plus the cases for them.

The black case in the above picture at the top is what I carry my PSP Go or my Vita and 6 Vita Game Cards in. I never leave the house with more than one Sony handheld since the case is in my backpack and I don’t want it to be too heavy. The big blue case on the right I recently bouight in August. Except for Anime Boston, it never leaves my  room. I needed more storage for my DS and 3DS games (stores 20 game cards) so I bought it for that purpose. It can also fit two DS/3DS consoles inside as well as my universal chargers (charge a DS/DSi and a 3DS at the same time with one cord).

I usually throw the blue case on the left in my backpack. It fits one 3DS/DS, 8 games and 2 stylus. I only really use it on weekends and time I have off from work such as Summer Break or Christmas break. It”s extra weight, after all. The small case below the DSi contains the four games I’m currently playing on my blue 3DS. It fits in my pants pocket with my blue 3DS fitting in another pocket. The other plastic cases never levave my bedroom. The red case on the left can store 1 DS/3DS console and 6 games.

In terms of RPGs, “which one has better games?”

On the one hand, I have almost 70 3DS games and about 25 Vita games. On the other hand, the majority of my Vita games are RPGs while about half of my 3DS games are RPGs. At the same time, most of the Vita’s RPGs are ports or enhanced remakes (Persona 4 Golden, Hyperdimension Neptunia Rebirth and FFX/X-2 HD Remaster to name a few). I have  or have played ALL of the ones released in North America so I can say that.

Then again, the Vita has been around a year less than the 3DS. While the 3DS has alot of 1st Party Support the Vita has alot of 3rd Party support. The Vita is graphically superior to the 3DS but the 3DS has WAY more options than the Vita: Sony has Persona but Nintendo has Shin Megami Tensei AND Etrian Oddyssey. Persona Q (coming to the 3DS) is a bit of a mashup of the Persona games and the Etrian Oddyssey games (characters from P3 and P4 but the dungeon and battle mechanics of Etrian Oddyssey).

In answer to the question I posed above, it’s a tie. I have both consoles and I wouldn’t feel right picking one over the other. I bought the Vita specifically for RPGs but the last 18 months have been good to the 3DS in terms of RPGs: Bravely Default, Conception II (I have the Vita version), Shin Megami Tensei IV and Fire Emblem Awakening, among others.

If you only have a 3DS you have PLENTY of options (not just RPGs) to chose from. If you only have a Vita, you’ll be getting alot of bang for your buck despite Sony transitioning the Vita into a support role for the PS4.

By the end of November I can begin a LONG break from buying video games, and just in time for the release of a certain game I’ve been talking about alot lately:

 

Come 11/11/14, the race to level 100 begins =O

This entry was posted in Blog, Brendan Aurabolt, News, Nintendo 3DS, Nintendo DS, Playstation Vita, PS Vita, RPG, Serene Adventure, Sony, Video Games, Vita, World of Warcraft and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

