Favorite Games of 2014

I figure I should wait until the new year started to do this. Nothing fancy, but here are the ten games I gave alot of late nights to in 2014:

  1. Bravely Default (Nintendo 3DS): Should come as no surprise given it tied with Fantasy Life and Persona Q as my 3DS game of the year. In my first copy of the game (the one on my Red 3DS; I bought a second copy on my Blue 3DS a few months later) I’ve logged in 105 hours. This game easily gets the #1 spot for that alone ^_^
  2. Pokemon OmegaRuby and Pokemon Alpha Sapphire (Nintendo 3DS): No comment necessary.
  3. Ys: Memories of Celceta (Playstation Vita): It’s considered the second-best RPG on the Vita behind Persona 4 Golden. When I bought it in September, I quickly found out why. The game is a must-have for anyone who likes the Ys series in general.
  4. Super Smash Bros. 3DS (Nintendo 3DS): The game everyone forgot about when the Wii U version was released a month after the 3DS version was. It’s Super Smash Bros. on the go. Nothing tops that!
  5. Tales of Symphonia Chronicles (Playstation 3): It was one of the games I specifically bought my PS3 for. This despite already having the original games. Tales of Symphonia is just THAT awesome.
  6. Warriors Orochi 3 Ultimate (Playstation Vita): Here’s something Sony doesn’t want its base to realize: It’s a port of the Wii U version (SHH!). Even so, it’s AWESOME and has both crossplay and cross-save with the PS3 and PS4 versions.
  7. Skyrim (Playstation 3): From the moment I started up the game, I knew I should’ve bought the game when it first came out years ago.
  8. Age of Empires II HD (PC, Steam): I bought the game for $5. It wasn’t until I started it up I realized I’d just bought a game with near-endless replay value. And I love Real-Time Strategy (RTS) games.
  9. World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor (PC): I did what I set out to do in Azeroth. Come January 12, I will forever bid this game adeu.
  10. Tomodachi Life (Nintendo 3DS): Major Props to Nintendo for FINALLY making a game where you can do lots of fun things with Miis!

 

…That’s it.

For me, 2015 will be a year of finishing games I bought in the last few years. I have games I bought as far back as 2010 I never finished so…yeah. What this will mean for my blog is there will be more op-eds and alot of retro reviews as well as everything else I announced already. Thanks to Gamefaqs, there is nothing coming out in the first 5 months of 2015 for the 3DS or Vita that I’m remotely interested in. I’d be surprised if I spent more than $100 on video games between now and Anime Boston, which is 4 months away =D

This entry was posted in Anime Boston, Blog, Brendan Aurabolt, News, Nintendo 3DS, Playstation Vita, PS Vita, Retro Gaming, Serene Adventure, Video Games, Vita, World of Warcraft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Favorite Games of 2014

  1. You got some great taste in games.

    My favorite games this year are:
    Super Mario 3D Land/World
    Bayonetta 1/2
    Pokemon OR/Y
    Mario Kart 8
    Super Smash Bros 3DS/Wii U
    Shovel Knight

    and

    Binding of Isaac Rebrith

Leave a Reply

