Pokemon Evolution Methods


I made this page for personal use but then I figured someone else might find use of it ^_^


Every Pokemon listed on this page is a Pokemon that evolves in ways other than just reaching a specific level. Considering there are 820 Pokemon out there…yeah, I thought you’d find this interesting. As a bonus, I will provide extra info for Pokemon that evolve in specific areas such as Nosepass (Magnetic Field) by Region.

…You can thank me by sharing this page with others =D


Trade Evolution

Machoke, Kadabra, Haunter, Graveler, Gurdurr, Boldore, Phantump and Pumpkaboo will all evolve simply by trading them. All the rest listed below require a specific held item or in 2 cases, to be traded with each other:

  • Karrablast and Shelmet must be traded for each other for them to evolve.
  • Onix and Scyther must be traded while holding the Metal Coat.
  • Slowpoke and Poliwhirl must be traded while holding the King’s Rock.
  • Porygon must be traded while holding the Up Grade.
  • Seadra must be traded while holding the Dragon Scale.
  • Clamperl must be traded while holding the Deepsea Fang to get Gorebyss.
  • Clamperl must be traded while holding the Deepsea Scale to get Huntail.
  • Porygon2 must be traded while holding the Dubious Disc.
  • Sneasel must be traded while holding the Sharp Claw.
  • Gligar must be traded while holding the Sharp Fang.
  • Dusknoir must be traded while holding the Reaper Cloth.
  • Rhydon must be traded while holding the Protector.
  • Electabuzz must be traded while holding the Electrizer.
  • Magmar must be traded while holding the Magmarizer.
  • Feebas can be evolved by trading it while holding a Prism Scale OR raising its Beauty Stat to 170+ and the leveling it up (D/P/Pt, R/S/E or OR/AS Only).
  • Spritzee must be traded while holding the Sachel.
  • Swirlix must be traded while holding the Whipped Dream (not a typo, that’s the name of the item).

…And there you have it. Speaking for myself, I’ve evolved ALL of the Pokemon on this list except the last two. I have the means but just haven’t gotten around to it. Yet.


Stone Evolution

You know how it works: Use the corresponding stone and the Pokemon evolves. For those who started playing the games in the 6th, 7th or 8th gen, I’m sure the first part of this list will be very useful.

  • Thunder Stone: Pikachu, Eevee (Jolteon) and Elektrik
  • Fire Stone: Growlithe, Vulpix, Eevee (Flareon), Pansear and Lampent.
  • Water Stone: Staryu, Shellder, Eevee (Vaporeon), Lombre and Panpour.
  • Leaf Stone: Gloom, Weepinbell, Nuzleaf
  • Moon Stone: Clefairy, Jigglypuff, Nidorino, Nidorina and Munna.
  • Sun Stone: Gloom, Sunkern
  • Dawn Stone: Male Kirlia, Female Snorunt
  • Dusk Stone: Murkkrow
  • Shiny Stone: Togetic, Roselia
  • Oval Stone: Happiny must hold it while leveling up to evolve into Chansey

Except for Eevee’s Evolutions, Gallade and Froslass, once a Pokemon has a stone used on it the resulting Pokemon will no longer learn moves outside a TM, HM or Move Tutor. You should be mindful of when you want to evolve your Pokemon as with the Move Reminder you will only have access to a limited number of moves.


Happiness Evolution

Introduced in the Second Gen with the advent of pre-evolutions, once a Pokemon’s Happiness Value reaches 220+ (hidden value though there is a person in each region who will tell you how close a Pokemon is to you) it will evolve. Some Pokemon also have the additional requirement of only evolving during the Day or Night. Things that can boost happiness include having a Pokemon hold the Soothe Bell and having them get a massage or a haircut. The methods for making a Pokemon happy is super-easy in OmegaRuby/Alpha Sapphire thanks to the Secret Base so…yeah.

  • Chansey, Cleffa, Igglybuff, Pichu and Munchlax anytime
  • Budew during the Day/Morning
  • Riolu During the Day/Morning
  • Eevee (Espeon) During the Day/Morning
  • Eevee (Umbreon) During the Night
  • Clingling During the Night
  • Eevee (Sylveon) via Pokemon Aime (6th and 7th Gen Only)

I actually had to double check to confirm Clingling and Bonsly. The latter Pokemon, which is Sudowoodo’s pre-evolution (introduced in the 4th gen) evolves at level 20.

Additional Pokemon in Party Evolution

The concept was introduced in the 4th Gen with Mantyke: In order for it to evolve into Mantine, you need to have a Remoraid in your party. Up until the 4th gen, you may have noticed Remoraid is shown attached to it in past gens. This is why. Interestingly, Shellder is not a precondition for Slowpoke to evolve into Slowbro even though the Pokedex specifically states it evolves when a Shellder bites its tail.

The only other Pokemon that evolves this way is Pancham (Fighting). It will be able to evolve into Pangoro (Fighting/Dark) starting at level 32 if there is a Dark-type Pokemon in the Party. Otherwise, it wil never evolve.

Environment-Based Evolution

Introduced in the 4th Gen, these Pokemon must level up in a specific location for them to evolve. All of them are familiar Pokemon who now have new evolutions. I reccommend using a Rare Candy for the first Pokemon on the list. As for the last one, turn your 3DS upside down right when it hits 30+ and do not turn it right side up until you see the Evolution screen.

  • Magneton and Nosepass in a place with a strong Magnetic Field.
  • Eevee (Glaceon) near the Ice Rock.
  • Eevee (Leafeon) near the Moss Rock.
  • Inkay Level 30+ while holding the 3DS/2DS upside down.

That last one can be done anywhere as long as you remember to keep your 3DS upside down when Inkay levels up. It makes sense when you take into consideration its Ability Contrary reverses stat changes in battle: Moves that would lower a stat will boost it instead and vice versa. Malamar is a great Pokemon to use in Inverse Battles for this reason alone so…yeah.

…Before I forget, here is where you can find a Magnetic Field, Ice Rock and Moss Rock in the 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th Gens:

  • 4th Gen (Sinnoh Only): Ironworks Valley Works (Magnetic Field), Eterna Forest (Moss Rock) and Route 216 (Ice Rock).
  • 5th Gen (Unova): Chargestone Cave (Magnetic Field), Pinwheel Forest (Moss Rock) and the basement of Twisted Mountain (Ice Rock).
  • 6th Gen – Kalos: Route 13 (Magnetic Field), Route 20 (Moss Rock) and the basement of the Frost Cavern (Ice Rock).
  • 6th Gen – Hoenn: New Mauville (Magnetic Field), Petalburg Woods (Moss Rock) and the basement of Shoal Cave (Ice Rock).
  • 7th Gen (Alola):

So you will find all of the areas needed to evolve Magneton (Magnezone), Nosepass (Probopass) and Eevee (Glaceon and Leafeon) in Sinnoh, Unova, Kalos, 6th Gen Hoenn and Alola. If you have HeartGold or SoulSilver you will need to trade the Pokemon to Diamond, Pearl or Platinum to evolve them.

As an aside–and I meant to say this at the top–the Kalos region marks the first time you can catch wild Eevee. This drastically reduces its rarity and that of all but its newest evolution, Sylveon. The two boxes I have full of Eevee on Poke Bank really do highlight this!


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.